life: In the Fabu-LENA Lane


I have to say,  this past week has been one of the most exciting I’ve had in a long time. This work I have been doing on Lena Horne has really been putting me in touch with a lot emotionally… and has allowed me to revisit a part of myself that I had neglected.

Now I must tell you that from now on I will be speaking about Lena and myself as if she is still around, because she is very much alive in me.

On Wednesday I left Sundance early and decided to go on a little date. Lena had been urging me to head uptown. The museum is where she wanted to go… of course, I have no sense of direction… and wound up on the west side of central park, and needed to be on the east side to go to the MET.

We wound up in Central Park… As long as I have been in New York, I have never walked through Central Park… but on Wednesday I did. We walked the runners path along the fountain and made our way to the MET. She led me into the rooms of Medevil Art as well as French and American design. Unfortunately due to  our earlier detour we got to the museum at 4:30 and it closed at 5:15 so we didn’t have much time.

We stayed until the museum closed and then made our way back onto the bitter cold New York streets. I thought I knew where I was going…. yet once again…. I was lost. I just kept walking and walking and walking… until I got to a familiar street. About 2 years prior, I found myself on this very same street dropping off a card and chocolates to Lena’s daughters house… call it whatever you want, fait, coincidence… Whatever it is… I found great comfort in it.

I had to find my way back to Central Park, and make my way back to the west side in time for class…. I walked all the way from the east side of the park to 43rd street by 6:30… just enough time to prep for class.

I felt her with me the entire time… and it felt amazing. My exercise for her went well… and now I am ready to explore more with her in class on Monday.

Lena nor I can sleep….  so we  just felt like sharing.

Leave a Reply

