film: MOMMIE DEAREST!!!


I don’t know what it is, but all week I have had an itch to watch Mommie Dearest, and finally today… I popped it in.

Image

As I am watching it, I am reciting it line by line, which shows that I have seen this movie far too many times, yet it makes watching the film that much more entertaining.

I have to admit I am shocked Faye Dunaway won’t talk about the film. I thought she was pretty brilliant in it. Of course it is a bit melodramatic, but what do you expect? The golden era of Hollywood was extremely melodramatic, Joan Crawford was melodramatic, she lived in her public persona, she was a star by all means. Also, the book Mommie Dearest is nothing short of being a Lifetime Movie.

Anyway, I love Faye, and I am intrigued by Joan… and Mommie Dearest definitely inspired me this evening.

…I can only imagine what it was like to live with Faye while she was preparing to play Joan Crawford… it must have been hell… I am only saying this because I know I am not the easiest person to be around as I am playing Lena.

In honor of Mommie Dearest I have to post my favorite scene from this film… It kills me everytime. I am still trying to find the perfect occasion to throw out the line… “DON’T FUCK WITH ME FELLAS… This ain’t my first time at the Rodeo.”

Leave a Reply

