salute: the KING!


Not a day goes by that I don’t count my blessings.

"If you can't fly then run, if you can't run then walk, if you can't walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.” .Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

 

My life is a privilege. My arrival into the world succeeded the battles of the civil rights movement. I didn’t experience racism to the caliber in which my ancestors did. I don’t know what it feels like to be told that the color of my skin prevents me from sitting on a bus, eating at a restaurant, dating who I want to date, living in a certain neighborhood, having certain friends, staying at certain hotels, going to certain schools, voting, or performing at certain venues.

The color of my skin in an honor. I stem from a race of people who fought for me to be here, how can I not live each day as the gift that it is.  My life is infused with the rich reminder that I am supposed to be here. Being black not only inspires me it drives me and reminds me that in the words of Pearl Cledge I am part of something “Better, truer, deeper.”

 

Lena Horne with Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. 1963 NYC

 I am so proud that I walk in the footsteps of giants.

Let us not only celebrate the bravery, beauty, intelligence, love and selflessness of this man but also the people who stood beside him. Let us remember that we are because they were. There is still work to be done. Let their fight, blood and tears not be for naught.

Leave a Reply

