salute: February 15th…MALCOLM X


“Malcolm X raised my consciousness about myself and my people … more than any person I know.”

-Lena Horne

The impact that this man had on the African-American community is something that goes without saying. For me the incredible thing about Malcolm X is just how potent his words still are today. I am so in awe of him and his intelligence and his power. To think that this man completely reinvented himself and started a movement is extraordinary.

I love this video. A debate between two of Black Americas most influential figures.

“I walk in the footsteps of giants.”

2 thoughts on “salute: February 15th…MALCOLM X

  1. Thanks for sharing the video. I loved it, too. I was taken aback by Kanye at the end, after being so struck when Mr. King said, “I might not get there with you…” but I guess I can dig a little artistic expression by whoever put this together. I was moved.

  2. Yeah it took me aback as well. I wanted to find a clean version to post but, there wasn’t one. I agree the speech with Dr. King always gets me.

Leave a Reply

