salute: February 20th…Diahann Carroll


I’ve gotten behind on my salutes… bare with me while I catch up!

When you talk about Diahann Carroll you have to mention her achievements.

In 1962 Diahann became the first African American woman to win a Tony award for her role in the musical No Strings.

Her series Julia made her the first African American woman to have her own television show, and her role in Dynasty made her (as she says) the first “black bitch” on TV.

Glamorous, beautiful, talented, brave… all words that come to mind when I think of Diahann.  She is another woman I hope to work with.  So heavens hear me!

“I walk in the footsteps of giants”

Leave a Reply

