music= POWER


I am a firm believer in the power of the arts. The beauty in it’s ability to bring people together, and change lives, and inspire just moves me.

It’s amazing when I am in my acting class, and I am watching the actors prepping before they go on stage, and each of us has our ipod on. (I am always curious to know what everyone else is listening to.)

I love the music that transports me. I love the voices that tell a story. I don’t know what it is, but certain music really just hits the core of me. When I hear Streisand’s “Don’t Like Goodbyes” or “My Man” or Horne’s “Softly As I Leave You” and “Believe” or Liza Minnelli or Judy Garland or Nina Simone or Billy Holiday or Miles Davis or Nancy Wilson, Whitney Houston, Alicia Keys… even Beyoncé.

Its such a beautiful thing to see someone else being healed by the power of music. I saw this video on a fellow SVA’ers blog. She and I went to college together. I believe she was graduating the year I started. Then about 2 years ago, we were on the verge of going a project together which unfortunately fell through.

Anyway when I saw this video, I grinned from ear to hear, yet found myself a little sad, thinking about the idea of cutting arts programs out of schools. How insane, how unfortunate… without the arts I believe the world would need to be medicated.

Music is therapy.

Leave a Reply

