life: Remembering Lena


I woke up today with a pain so strong that it left me literally only able to eat a piece of watermelon and get back in bed. It wasn’t until I became aware of the date that I realized 2 years ago today, Lena passed away.

I have to say doing this one woman show on Lena has not only given me a greater appreciation for her life and legacy, it has given me this fiece appreication for myself.

Damn it. It sucks that in this lifetime, I will never get to meet her, and thank her for all she has taught me, and all she has given me as an artist and as a black woman.

Well my dear Lena, at least we have the stage. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Love always.

That Girl Named Ryan

Where do I begin?

On May 14th 2010, I was resurrected.

Something inside me was burning from the time I heard about Lena Hornes death. I don’t know what it was, but it felt like a little piece of myself died with her. Some may say I reacted too strongly for a woman I’ve never met… but I should explain.

I was exposed to Lena at a very young age. I can still see my elementary self singing along to Stormy Weather in my grandparents living room in Michigan.

Everyone I know says I was born far too late. A quick response they tend to give after hearing about my love for Rita Hayworth or quick knowledge of the Golden Age of Hollywood; or my ipod filled with songs from Ella Fitzgerald, Dinah Washington, Duke Ellington and at 167 songs… Lena Horne.

Lena’s death represented the end an era, an…

View original post 480 more words

Leave a Reply

