salute: Nora Ephron


I think I was about 10 years old when I first saw You’ve Got Mail. I don’t know what it was… my nostalgic ties to New York or my love of Meg Ryan but I have to admit, You’ve Got Mail made me want to write movies. The summer following the year it was released on VHS… yes VHS, I wrote down every single line to that movie and would rehearse it with my television set.

After hearing about Nora Ephron’s death I wanted to take some time to remember the woman who taught me what clever dialogue, simple scenarios, complicated characters, and many versions of a high strung Meg Ryan can do for cinema. Norah Ephron was brilliant, and whether he was writing about her neck, or figuring out how Harry met Sally, she managed to remain one of the freshest writers, male or female.

She will be greatly missed!

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

