food: VEGAN/VEGGIE BURGERS


I have been a vegetarian for almost 7 years, and for me it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Not only has it made me more energized and guilt free (love my furry friends), it has also allowed me to be creative with what I eat.

To me, the best veggie burger I have ever eaten came from 5 Napkin Burger in NYC. What I loved about it was the fact that when I looked at it I was sure the waiter had bought me the wrong burger. Turns out he didn’t. Ever since then I have been toying around with recipes, and yesterday… I finally found it.

BEETS ME2

Now mind you when I cook, I  never measure. I just kinda wind it. I hope you find this helpful.

Ladies and Gentleman I present… “BEETS ME?”

RYAN’S BEET’S ME VEGGIE BURGER

2 Beets (peeled and shredded)

1 Large carrot (peeled and shredded)

1 zucchini (shredded and dried)

1 box of mushrooms (I would say about 15)

1 cup of quinoa (cooked)

1 can of chickpeas (drained)

1 can of lentils (drained)

5 scallions (chopped)

2 garlic cloves (chopped)

Brown rice (I used to 90 minute Uncle Bens… I hate making rice)

2 tablespoons dried mustard

1/2 cup (breadcrumbs or panko flakes)

Salt and Pepper

In a large bowl add the shredded beets, carrots, zucchini, brown rice, lentils, quinoa

Chop the mushrooms and cook them  in a pan with olive oil and a little salt and pepper.

In a food processor add chickpeas, cooked mushrooms, garlic, mustard and a little olive oil. This will create a little humus like paste.

Once the chickpea mixture is complete fold it into the beet/rice mixture folding in 2 eggs and one egg yolk.

Once that is all mixed together start making patties. After you have formed the patties, sit them in your fridge for a few hours so they can set. Then after about 2 hours pull em out and get to cookin!

I prefer a cast iron skillet with a little olive oil or coconut oil. Cook both sides until they have a dark brown crust (hate that word) Then pull em off. Put them on some udi’s gluten free hamburger rolls. Top it with some vegenaise, ketchup, daiya cheddar cheese and kale. And enjoy.

I fed 5 people, ate one and still have 8 patties chillin in my freezer.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nia Fairweather says:

    I love it! I’m transitioning to a mostly vegetarian diet so I look forward to trying out this recipe.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Nia Fairweather http://www.niafairweather.com

    “Be the change that you wish to see in the world”–Mahatma Ghandi ***Please consider the environment before printing this message.

  2. Gotta Lovett says:

    Ill try it one day….it looks delicious. Love YOU

Leave a Reply

