Music: Prince Rogers Nelson


Screen Shot 2016-04-21 at 9.15.47 PMDeep down, I have always had a thing for Prince. I wanted to be his muse,organize his guitars, borrow his tops…purify myself in the waters of Lake Minnetonka.

Man, I have typed and retyped this post over and over again. What do I say? Do I name off all of Princes accomplishments? Perhaps I can list off all of his unforgettable music… Better yet how about his unmatched artistry? Maybe, his style… ah, that unforgettable style.

There are so many things I can talk about, yet the only thing that is pulling at my heart is his unapologetic authenticity. While his music transcended the color lines, Prince was a figure who allowed the world to see a different side of black culture.  He encouraged individuality, challenging social norms for gender and sexuality.

"I'm not a woman, I'm not a man 

I am something that you'll never understand" 

(I would die 4 you)

African American men and women embraced their eccentricity, Men no longer had to fit into the molds of the Denzel Washingtons and Sidney Portiers. After Prince emerged men like Lenny Kravitz, and Slash, men who raged against “normalcy.” Women no longer had to be the delicate and demure Diana Ross or Dionne Warwick,  women could be sexy and free like Vanity or Apollonia. Because of Prince we gave ourselves the permission to be totally weird and that was cool. Prince encouraged us to take advantage of our freedom, and lead us towards our true selves. Prince was an artist, he was a innovator, he was a teacher. He left us in the Purple Rain, in the season of growth and the start of things… I can’t help but feel like he wouldn’t have had it any other way. Prince not only leaves behind a body of work that will make us turn up the radio a little louder when it plays, he also leaves us with one of the greatest of gifts and that is the confidence in being ourselves.

Closing this with one of my favorite Prince Songs.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

