salute: Jessica Lange


Ummm, I have probably sung her praises in several other posts… but how about another one?

giphy

As an early gift for my birthday I decided to buy myself tickets to go and see Jessica Lange in “Long Days Journey Into Night.” I had read the play before, and even while reading it all I could see were images of Lange tangled within the fragile world of Mary Tyrone… a woman whose delicate mental state and morphine addiction is one which gives Blanche Dubois a run for her money.

Now let’s talk about the set up. I was sitting wayyyy in the rafters, in the second to last row to the right of the stage. Pretty much for the entire performance I got Jessica Langes back. Now, while others would probably be fuming, I was quite amazed that while rarely seeing her face, her rawness her richness and her commitment to the character hit my heart like a brick. I found myself constantly swallowing down the lumps in my throat or watching the show through a tear filled gaze. The energy to portray a character whose emotional life is so full is not an easy one. It doesn’t just become your homework, with a character like Mary Tyrone you live with her. I’m pretty sure the moment Jessica Lange wakes up she is already in some way state of form Mary, and between shows I can guess the Tyrone household is running around in her mind. The character is never too far away. With a character that complex and emotionally demanding, a piece of them stays within you always.

Since I first saw Lange in Frances I was hooked. There is something about the  freedom that she gives to every single performance that just grabs me. Every single time I start to think I wanted to give up acting I would see Lange and would be reminded why I love it, why I need it… why I live in that freedom. Am I biased because shes my favorite? No, because she’s fucking brilliant. It’s Jessica Lange. She’s serious about her shit, and I respect the hell out of her. She is the kind of actor every actor should aspire to be unselfishly playing give and take with the character resulting in a truthful performance.

 

200.gif

Seriously if you’re in New York or close by please make sure and try to catch this show. It is not to be missed!

One thought on “salute: Jessica Lange

Leave a Reply

