random: Dreams and Shirley Bassey


When I get on a music kick, I kind of overindulge and dive in head first exploring the evolution of the artist from the beginning of their career to where they landed.

I have to admit I do prefer female singers to male. And while I do love me some Prince, Bowie, Dean Martin and Bennett… my heart is with my divas. Streisand, Nancy Wilson, Sarah Vaughn and The Horne.

Since I was a child Lena Horne was my muse, my grandparents introduced me to her when I was about seven years old when they popped on Stormy Weather and later The Wiz. Immediately I was hooked. Flash forward to 15 years later, I had to honor of playing  her on stage, which will forever be one of the highlights of my life.

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 12.19.57 AM
As Lena Horne (Chez Joesphine 2011)

Now… NEVER in a million years did I think I would ever find another artist whose artistry would touch me on this stratospheric level. An artist whose journey I wanted to explore on an actor level but then… Bassey happened. I have listened to her music for several years, shit even her song “It’s Impossible” is my ringtone, but it wasn’t until about 2 months ago that I really started to dive into Bassey.

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 12.46.58 AM.pngAs I found myself scouring through pages of the internet, reading of her humble beginnings  tragedies, and successes, I found myself saying out loud,”Legit, I want to play this chick, I have to bring this story to life.”

846x
Shirley Bassey (Royal Albert Hall 1973)

Listen, I am totally aware I have no vocal power what so ever… and hitting the notes in Goldfinger would be like me beating Streisand in a singing contest (won’t happen)… but I think I could make this work.

My soul is just like bish, you gotta do this… So universe, I am putting this out there and sending it all the way up!!!!!!!!

“Never, Never , Never” has entered my top 10 songs of all time… like damn, Shirley, What? I wasn’t ready. My heart is totally ripped open.

Leave a Reply

